Honorary Professor, Dept. of Mat. Eng.
IISc., Bangalore

Recipient of the prestigious Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award in 1995, he is also a recipient of The Medal of the Materials Research Society of India, the Birla Gold Medal of the Indian Institute of Metals, the National Metallurgist Award of Government of India for life time contribution to the metallurgical profession and the Life Time Achievement Award of the Electron Microscope Society of India. He is a fellow of all the science and engineering academies of the country including Indian National Science Academy (INSA), Indian Academy of Science (IASc) and Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE). He is also a life fellow and the Vice President of the Indian Institute of Metals.

Currently the National Coordinator of the National Microgravity Research Programme, he is involved with several science related agencies in various capacities. He served as the Chair of the International Committee on the Rapidly Quenched and Metastable Materials and the Chairman of the International Committee on Nanostructured Materials. He was a member of the International Committee on Quasicrystal, International Affair Committee of the Materials Research Society, Boston and member of the award committee of the Americal Society for Mining and Metallurgy.

Professor Chattopadhyay was an editor of the Journal of Materials Science published by Springer. He also served as a Guest Editor of the International Journal of Materials Science and Engineering, Elsevier and was a member of the editorial boards of Engineering Materials, Transtech Publisher and Materials Science and Technology, Materials Society, U.K.

Visit Full Profile